Board of Directors

photo of people doing handshakes

The Kansas Sunshine Coalition for Open Government was incorporated as a nonprofit entity in 1999 by the director of the Elliott School of Communication at Wichita State University.  Its original sponsors were the Kansas Association of Broadcasters, the Kansas Press Association, and the Kansas Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

The organization’s secretariat services were performed by the Kansas Press Association from 2000 until 2005, when Wichita State University’s Elliott School of Communication assumed those services. In 2014 its operations, affairs, and finances were undertaken by a board of directors with representatives from industries with interest in open government, primarily media, law and journalism. 

In 2022, the organization changed its name to the Kansas Coalition for Open Government (KCOG).

Max Kautsch, President
Attorney at Law
(785) 840-0077

Emily Bradbury, Secretary
Executive Director, Kansas Press Association

Allison Mazzei, Treasurer
President, Kansas Association of Broadcasters

Doug Anstaett
Former Executive Director, Kansas Press Association

Kent Cornish
Former President, Kansas Assn. of Broadcasters

Jill Quigley
Kansas League of Women Voters
Lenexa, KS

Kim Wilhelm
News Director, KWCH 12 Eyewitness News

Davis Hammet
President, Loud Light

Mackenzie Clark
Reporter/Founder, The Lawrence Times




Sample   Records  Request Form

Need help making a KORA request? Here’s a sample form to get started. Get from.


Kansas Open Meetings and Open Records Acts

How much do you know about the Kansas Open Meetings and Open Records Acts? This true/false quiz tests your knowledge. Take the quizCheck your answers.


Trouble with Kansas Open Records Requests?

If you have recently filed an open records request with a government entity in Kansas (local or state) and had trouble accessing the records or were given an exorbitant bill, we want to hear from you. Take survey.

%d bloggers like this: